Haven’t posted in a while because I’ve been waiting to have something positive to say. But I am stuck in this funky place where I’m thinking about whether I’ve made the right decision after all. Law school sucks, to put it bluntly. The workload is simply excruciating, the expectations are inhuman, and most of the people aren’t very nice. There are exceptions, of course, but for the most part, the students are always sizing you up as competition (or not, depending on how they see themselves), the instructors are vague and unhelpful, and the staff is surly. I have even filed a formal complaint against one little shit who works in the registrars office for insulting and domineering behavior…. And UNM bills itself as “the law school that cares.” Ugh. The Business program was so much easier.

But, trying to find the bright-side so as not to weigh down my audience, there have been a few moments of levity. I’ve found a good little group of friends who have their priorities in order. There’s a former paralegal, a former journalist (who has done work for Time and People magazine), a former high school teacher, and a former college kid who has her head screwed on straight. Nice people, and they put up with my whining, so you have to give them props for that! Finals run from Dec. 3rd – Dec. 14th, so we are diligently getting our course outlines together and taking practice exams. We have more of a safe-and-sane approach to finals than many of our comrades, which could either mean that we are being more efficient about the whole thing, or that we have missed the boat completely. Time will tell.

Another positive, though, is that I am starting to see what I can do with a JD. I’ve always said, “I don’t want to be a lawyer. I want to be a lobbyist!” Well, one of the clubs brought out a guest speaker from the Dept of Justice in Washington, DC who worked for the FISA court. His job was to take requests from FBI agents in the field who wanted to wiretap suspected terrorist cells in the US, and put together the application that then went to the FISA court for approval. His job, as he put it, was to balance national security with 4th Amendment privacy protections, and he took the personal privacy part very seriously. So, as I sat there listening to his story, it suddenly dawned on me that lawyers do other things than put people in jail, read contracts, and sue people for personal injury. It takes me awhile to “get” things, apparently…

