Now that the Olympics are over, maybe I can get to bed at a decent hour.

For some reason, I was into these Olympics more than I have been in the past 2 or 3 cycles. I think it was because I was so interested in the China angle – so much controversy, so many mixed emotions on the political landscape. I simply couldn’t stop watching. The Opening and Closing Ceremonies certainly didn’t hurt. So pretty. Those Chinese sure know how to put on a show.

I even watched Weightlifting, and saw the German athlete who won the gold hold up his wife’s picture on the medal stand. Loved every bit of it. The American athletes, for the most part, seemed a lot more gracious this year, too. Maybe the USOC held “how to win and lose in front of the cameras” workshops with them all. Or maybe that was the inflight movie – the most captive audience one could find.

Yes, Michael Phelps is great. He’s a 23 year old college student, though. Youth is on his side. Dara Torres and Oksana Chusovitina, 41 and 33 years old respectively, winning Silvers? They are my new Super Heroes.

